Hello and welcome to the first edition of Progscars!

Fifteen imaginary awards to give out to the most interesting progressive rock and metal music to come out in 2017. I decided to do this for fun but also to build awareness of bands and artists.

Today we explore the best use of an unconventional instrument in songs I have come across from bands exploring the genre. Now what constitutes an unconventional instrument? In my eyes, one which wasn’t an essential part of those dominating the 70s prog rock scene: guitar, drums, bass, keys and woodwinds. Of course, there may be instances where an unconventional instrument may have been used even in the 70s (and most certainly have been since the turn of the century) but let’s call that more of an exception than a habitude. Yes, I’ve included violin even though a few bands such as Mahavishnu Orchestra and Van Der Graaf Generator used it.

Disclaimer:

  1. Everyone has different definitions about which band, album and song is progressive and which isn’t. For simplicity, I have stuck to bands classified as progressive rock or metal either on rateyourmusic.com or sputnikmusic.com and occasionally based on what I think.
  2. When it is says Song in the title, it specifically means a song belonging to an album by a band classified as progressive based on point 1. I’m also sure there are a few songs on this list (and the ones to come) that are 4/4 and hardly classify as a ‘Prog Song’ but I’ve included them nevertheless.
  3. Albums in December 2017 haven’t been considered! So no Diablo Swing Orchestra. Mainly because I was too busy exploring earlier albums that I might have missed out. I’ll include them in the next edition.
  4. If you spot errors anywhere (mostly in the technical side of things), let me know. I’m always open to criticism – constructive or destructive.
  5. EPs or Live Albums not considered for any of these lists.

 

Criteria for Judgement:

Another simple list to make – I just listed the best usage of a different instrument as and when I came across it while exploring the 2017 albums. I could find only six such instruments (without going into too much detail), so here they are. Remember for this list a particular instrument appears only once.

Now that that’s over with let’s get down to business! There are one just missed, four nominations and, of course, one winner. The number of noms would change depending on category.

JUST MISSED

Glockenspiel on “Fermented Hours” (From Silence to Somewhere – Wobbler)

Best Moment? This missed out from the top 5 because it is used very sparsely, even though it’s perfectly placed – Right after the intro. Also, if I’m wrong and this part isn’t from a glockenspiel, let me know.

 

#5

Cello on “The Last Milestone” (Mirage – Leprous)

Best Moment? 

The entire song is a wonderful duet between Einar Solberg on vocals and Raphael Weinroth-Browne on the cello. Raphael is a highly talented musician who makes cello versions of popular songs and was given a chance on Malina and he has seized the opportunity with both hands.

 

#4

Harmonica on “Refuge” (To the Bone – Steven Wilson)

Best Moment? 

I mentioned in my review how I’d miss Govan’s heart wrenching solos in To The Bone. Mark Feltham does partially fill the void with a great harmonica segment starting from 3:15.

 

#3

Accordian on “Cheval” (Savage Sinusoid – Igorrr)

Best Moment?

For shits and giggles, I could have gone for the chicken sound. Instead I again list the accordian by Pierre Mussi, an even bigger presence on “Cheval”. There’s also mandolin on the track, but if I list all the instruments and sounds used in Savage Sinusoid, the list here would be all Igorrr.

 

#2

Sitar on “Hymn of the Vagabond” (Vagabond – Subterranean Masquerade)

Best Moment? 

The track already appeared on the outro list where I talked about how beautiful the usage of the sitar is in producing this Indian classical fusion piece. In fact, there’s  another Indian instrument on the track, the Tabla, an instrument slightly more popular because of appearances on a few Tool tracks, among others.

 

#1

Violin on “Eyrie” (Urn – Ne Obliviscaris)

Best Moment? 

In Ne Obliviscaris‘ own words, “Eyrie” is a track that portrays the band’s most progressive and melodious visage. The violin is at the core of the track here with Tim Charles‘ melodies and riffs leading the song every second. I would go to the extent of saying that this isn’t a metal track with violin in it, it’s a violin effort with metal elements to complement it.

 

So which are the other tracks where you’ve seen the usage of an unconventional instrument from 2017?

Would love to hear from you! Let me know either in the comments here, on Facebook (Preferably) or on Instagram. You can follow me on Spotify (You might get a sneak peak of the awards a day in advance!)

Here’s the Spotify playlist of all the above tracks:

The first six awards are already out!

Best Bass Performance in a Song here.

Best Debut Album here.

Best Outro of a Song here.

Best Production on an Album here.

Best Intro to a Song here.

Best Use of Electronica in a Song here.