Hello and welcome to the first edition of Progscars!

Fifteen imaginary awards to give out to the most interesting progressive rock and metal music to come out in 2017. I decided to do this for fun but also to build awareness of bands and artists.

Today we explore the best production on albums I have come across from bands exploring the genre. Don’t you love it when the sound of the melange of multiple instruments is crisp and audible? Even the most technical instrumentation can be ruined by poor production. Remember EPs or Live Albums not considered for any of these lists.

Disclaimer:

  1. Everyone has different definitions about which band, album and song is progressive and which isn’t. For simplicity, I have stuck to bands classified as progressive rock or metal either on rateyourmusic.com or sputnikmusic.com and occasionally based on what I think.
  2. When it is says Song in the title, it specifically means a song belonging to an album by a band classified as progressive based on point 1. I’m also sure there are a few songs on this list (and the ones to come) that are 4/4 and hardly classify as a ‘Prog Song’ but I’ve included them nevertheless.
  3. Albums in December 2017 haven’t been considered! So no Diablo Swing Orchestra. Mainly because I was too busy exploring earlier albums that I might have missed out. I’ll include them in the next edition.
  4. If you spot errors anywhere (mostly in the technical side of things), let me know. I’m always open to criticism – constructive or destructive.

 

Criteria for Judgement:

For this award, I’ve mostly relied on ear. Years of listening to prog has given me a better understanding of which albums are better produced and which could do with better production. And if I’m confused, Angry Metal Guy has a great DR system to refer to. There’s also not much to describe here, so it’s just a list with all album titles and links. This was quite a straightforward list to make, as most of the producers involved in these albums have been around for years.

I would highly recommend checking out the Spotify playlist at the end of the list in place of these YouTube links, some of them aren’t uploaded in the best quality format or aren’t available in all countries.

Now that that’s over with let’s get down to business! There is one Just Missed, nine nominations and, of course, one winner. The number of noms would change depending on category.

 

Just Missed

In Contact – Caligula’s Horse

#10

Who Bit the Moon – David Maxim Micic

#9

Melancholia Hymns – Arcane Roots

#8

Polygondwanaland – King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard

#7

Foreword – Disperse

#6

Malina – Leprous

#5

Clairvoyant – The Contortionist

#4

 The Optimist – Anathema

#3

Fractured – Lunatic Soul

#2

The Source – Ayreon

#1

To The Bone – Steven Wilson

This was the easiest selection – at this point, Steven Wilson could record me singing and make it sound out of this world.

So what do you think are the best produced albums from 2017?

Would love to hear from you! Let me know either in the comments here, on Facebook (Preferably) or on Instagram. You can follow me on Spotify (You might get a sneak peak of the awards a day in advance!)

Here’s the Spotify playlist of all the above tracks:

 

The first three awards are already out!

Best Bass Performance in a Song here.

Best Debut Album here.

Best Outro of a Song here.