Hello and welcome to the first edition of Progscars!

Fifteen imaginary awards to give out to the most interesting progressive rock and metal music to come out in 2017. I decided to do this for fun but also to build awareness of bands and artists.

Today we explore the best intros of songs I have come across from bands exploring the genre. With increasingly lower attention capacities of a listener, an “ear”-catching intro can serve as a wonderful way to keep the audience listening. The same goes for an album when the album opener has a good intro.

Disclaimer:

  1. Everyone has different definitions about which band, album and song is progressive and which isn’t. For simplicity, I have stuck to bands classified as progressive rock or metal either on rateyourmusic.com or sputnikmusic.com and occasionally based on what I think.
  2. When it is says Song in the title, it specifically means a song belonging to an album by a band classified as progressive based on point 1. I’m also sure there are a few songs on this list (and the ones to come) that are 4/4 and hardly classify as a ‘Prog Song’ but I’ve included them nevertheless.
  3. Albums in December 2017 haven’t been considered! So no Diablo Swing Orchestra. Mainly because I was too busy exploring earlier albums that I might have missed out. I’ll include them in the next edition.
  4. If you spot errors anywhere (mostly in the technical side of things), let me know. I’m always open to criticism – constructive or destructive.
  5. EPs or Live Albums not considered for any of these lists.

 

Criteria for Judgement:

For this award (just as the outro one), the criteria is a little specific – I have chosen songs that have more elaborate intros and sections that build up for them. Generally this means intros last for about a minute or more. I also, as said above, prefer something that catches my attention, and so have given preference to a few songs that have a ‘WTF’ intro. You’ll understand soon what I’m talking about!

Now that that’s over with let’s get down to business! There are one Just Missed, nine nominations and, of course, one winner. The number of noms would change depending on category.

Just Missed

“Monochrome” from In Monochrome (Black Sites)

Why? The super-catchy riff from 0:35.

 

#10

“Mirage” from Malina (Leprous)

Why? The intro vaguely reminds me of my favourite song of the band – “Forced Entry”. The guitar and bass bend is typical Leprous too.

 

#9

“From Silence to Somewhere” from From Silence to Somewhere (Wobbler)

Why? Since the song is the album opener, the intro serves up a classic 70s prog rock throwback. It also caught me by surprise as this was the first song (and album) that I heard from Wobbler.

 

#8

“Meaningless” from In The Passing Light of Day (Pain of Salvation)

Why? The processed guitar sound at the start (sounds like bagpipers?) and the echoing drums. Also, it set the stage for Pain of Salvation’s comeback (The song was the first pre-release).

 

#7

“Intra Venus” from Urn (Ne Obliviscaris)

Why? Any intro with the bass at the forefront always scores very high in my eyes. In addition, it reminds me so much of the songwriting present on Portal of I.

 

#6

“Storm Son” from E (Enslaved)

Why? Unreal atmosphere, even if it is relatively simple.

 

#5

“Visions of Awakening” from In Forgotten Sleep (Lör)

Why? Sounds like a metal version of a video game soundtrack.

 

#4

“Sanctuary” from Reflections of a Floating World (Elder)

Why? The intro swerves up and down like waves of an ocean.  And that riff from 0:54 is something.

 

#3

“Houmous” from Savage Sinusoid (Igorrr)

Why? An avant-garde song with an Accordian intro. Need I say more?

 

 

#2

“Kippur” from Vagabond (Subterranean Masquerade)

Why? The metal version of a popular Middle-eastern tune.

 

#1

“Prison Skin” from Aathma (Persefone)

Why? Absolutely stunning buildup in the intro. It’s the perfect combination of technicality and catchiness. I remember the song melting my face the first time I listened it and it still does.

 

So what are your favourite intros from 2017?

Would love to hear from you! Let me know either in the comments here, on Facebook (Preferably) or on Instagram. You can follow me on Spotify (You might get a sneak peak of the awards a day in advance!)

Here’s the Spotify playlist of all the above tracks:

 

The first four awards are already out!

Best Bass Performance in a Song here.

Best Debut Album here.

Best Outro of a Song here.

Best Production on an Album here.