Hello and welcome to the first edition of Progscars!

Fifteen imaginary awards to give out to the most interesting progressive rock and metal music to come out in 2017. I decided to do this for fun but also to build awareness of bands and artists.

Today we explore the best use electronica in songs I have come across from bands exploring the genre. This year, in particular, I’ve noticed some very interesting usage of the genre by artists and bands to complement progressive rock, in particular, very well. On a side note, if you like the tracks here, I would definitely recommend you the new Ulver album, The Assassination of Julius Caesar, one of my favourite 2017 albums outside prog. Ulver was also killer live.

Disclaimer:

  1. Everyone has different definitions about which band, album and song is progressive and which isn’t. For simplicity, I have stuck to bands classified as progressive rock or metal either on rateyourmusic.com or sputnikmusic.com and occasionally based on what I think.
  2. When it is says Song in the title, it specifically means a song belonging to an album by a band classified as progressive based on point 1. I’m also sure there are a few songs on this list (and the ones to come) that are 4/4 and hardly classify as a ‘Prog Song’ but I’ve included them nevertheless.
  3. Albums in December 2017 haven’t been considered! So no Diablo Swing Orchestra. Mainly because I was too busy exploring earlier albums that I might have missed out. I’ll include them in the next edition.
  4. If you spot errors anywhere (mostly in the technical side of things), let me know. I’m always open to criticism – constructive or destructive.
  5. EPs or Live Albums not considered for any of these lists.

 

Criteria for Judgement:

This was a relatively simple list to make – The criterion is that the electronica should complement the song and album concepts well. It shouldn’t just be used for the sake of it (Something that really turned me off from the new David Maxim Micic album). I actually only found five tracks that I thought fit the above criterion, so it was more a question of deciding which I liked the best.

Now that that’s over with let’s get down to business! There are four nominations and, of course, one winner. The number of noms would change depending on category.

#5

“Matter” from Melancholia Hymns (Arcane Roots)

Why? This is already a fantastic song, but the beats (from 1:35) make the song even more dynamic and this alternation between electronica and drums sounds great.

 

#4

“San Francisco” from The Optimist (Anathema)

Why? The piano tune and later the synth complement the electronica to build up really well in the track, even if it ultimately fizzles out.

 

#3

“Deserted Dunes Welcome Weary Feet” from Polygondwanaland (King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard)

Why? There are hints of 80s synthwave influences throughout the album, but this is the track where I believe they really took to another level. For instance 2:02, wouldn’t sound out of place in Stranger Things, yeah?

 

#2

“Robert” from Savage Sinusoid (Igorrr)

Why? Might be cheating a bit here, as this is essentially an avant-garde electronic track. On the side there are drum beats, a short accordion, a short shriek, a gasp, but prog or not, it’s freaking awesome.

 

#1

“Blood on the Tightrope” from Fractured (Lunatic Soul)

Why? Duda wanted to experiment with electronica on the new album and right from this first track, you can see why he’s one of the best songwriters in the world currently and the world is his oyster. Notice how the rather jarring first hum at the debut next becomes the background track, before turning into almost the exact electronic-beat version at the minute mark. Then there’s the beautiful slowly-building, synth-like beat at 2:25. And this is all just examining the electronic effects, there’s so much more happening in the song (It’s my favourite of the album, as seen on my review)

 

So what are your favourite electronica influenced tracks from 2017?

Would love to hear from you! Let me know either in the comments here, on Facebook (Preferably) or on Instagram. You can follow me on Spotify (You might get a sneak peak of the awards a day in advance!)

Here’s the Spotify playlist of all the above tracks:

 

The first five awards are already out!

Best Bass Performance in a Song here.

Best Debut Album here.

Best Outro of a Song here.

Best Production on an Album here.

Best Intro to a Song here.